Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 3–4: Classic Childrenʼs Literature

Contains 12 high quality extracts from classic children’s fiction stories and is perfect for children to develop personalised reading strategies as they move through Key Stage 2. Look inside.

See the complete series.


ISBN: Print: 9780857478528; E-book: 9780857478580 Categories: , , , ,

£13.99£21.99 price excluding tax


Each of the 12 extracts from classic children’s literature is accompanied by eight sets of questions based on the Key Stage 2 (KS2) Reading Content Domains and National Curriculum. This reading workbook for Years 3 and 4 provides opportunities for children to study more complex vocabulary and so build their own. They can also explore how the authors language effects their readers whilst developing endurance for longer passages. Inference activities show the depth of children’s understanding of the extracts.

The clear structure and the author’s passion for literature make Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 3-4: Classic Children’s Literature invaluable for everyone working on literacy development with 7–8 and 9–10 year olds.

Support for teachers, and parents who are homeschooling, is built in with guidance for how to teach the different question types, plus suggestions for embedding these texts in the wider KS2 English curriculum. These resources are suitable for new and recently qualified teachers as well as those who are more experienced and wanting to expand the range of texts they use as classroom practice materials and for guided reading.

If you are a teacher, tutor or parent looking for a comprehensive teacher resource to enhance reflective reading and support teaching in your classroom or home education, this is exactly what you need. Look for other books in the Developing Reading Comprehension Skills series, including Years 5–6: Classic Children’s Literature, Years 3–4: Classic Poetry and Years 5-6: Classic Poetry.

This book contains extracts from the following classic novels:

  • The Tale of Jemima Puddle-duck by Beatrix Potter
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll
  • The Story of Dr Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
  • Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Velveteen Rabbit by Margery Williams
  • The Magic Bedknob by Mary Norton
  • The Railway Children by E. Nesbit
  • Peter Pan by J. M. Barrie
  • The Nutcracker and the Mouse-King by E. T. A. Hoffmann
  • The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
  • The Prince and the Pauper by Mark Twain

This is one book in a series of 8 Developing Reading Comprehension Skills

The other books are:

Look inside.

See the complete series.

Additional information

Weight 0.54 kg


Print: 9780857478528; E-book: 9780857478580

Market restriction

There are no market restrictions for this book.



Release date



Age groups


Printed book or E-book

E-book, Printed book

Product format

Teacher resource

1 review for Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 3–4: Classic Childrenʼs Literature

  1. barbara.valentini (verified owner)

    Excellent book! The texts have been carefully selected by the author, who is clearly very knowledgeable about children’s literature. The questions which accompany the texts are pitched at the right level to develop and challenge pupils’ skills, reflecting the expectations of the curriculum for reading. A truly valuable resource for every classroom.

Add a review

Enjoy reading this extract from Jemima Puddle-duck by Beatrix Potter


Try answering these retrieval questions for Jemima Puddle-duck by Beatrix Potter


Try answering these questions on text meaning for Jemima Puddle-duck by Beatrix Potter


Try this KS2 lesson plan for developing inference skills from the author Kate Heap


Look inside


You may also like…