Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5–6: Classic Poetry

Help pupils to ace the KS2 Reading SATs papers. Using a variety of carefully selected classic poems, children are given a greater understanding of poems to enable them to practise each of the eight Reading Content Domain question types that appear in the KS2 Reading SATs papers with confidence. Look inside.

See the complete series.


ISBN: Print: 9780857478467; E-book: 9780857478474 Categories: , , ,

£13.99£21.99 price excluding tax


Each of the 12 classic poems is accompanied by eight sets of questions based on the Key Stage 2 (KS2) Reading Content Domains and National Curriculum. The accompanying activities help to guide children through the poems, providing them with opportunities to understand the poet’s choice of vocabulary, widen their knowledge of synonyms, develop understanding of challenging language devices and practise their reading comprehension skills. Inference activities help hone inference skills and give an indication of the pupil’s depth of understanding of the poem.

The clear structure and the author’s passion for literature make Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5-6: Classic Poetry invaluable for everyone working on poetry comprehension with 9–10 and 11–12 year old pupils.

Support for teachers and parents who are homeschooling is built in with guidance for how to teach the different question types, plus suggestions for embedding these poems in the wider KS2 English curriculum. The teacher resources in this series are suitable for new and recently qualified teachers as well as those who are more experienced and looking to expand the range of texts they use as classroom practice materials for writing and for guided reading.

If you are a teacher, tutor or parent looking for a comprehensive resource to enhance reflective reading provision and teaching in your classroom or to support home education, this is exactly what you need.

The book contains the following classic poetry:

  • Night Clouds by Amy Lowell
  • An Autumn Evening by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • In Flanders Fields by John McCrae
  • Leisure by W.H. Davies
  • In the Bleak Midwinter by Christina Rossetti
  • The Way Through the Woods by Rudyard Kipling
  • “Hope” is the Thing with Feathers by Emily Dickinson
  • The Highwayman by Alfred Noyes
  • The Listeners by Walter de la Mare
  • North of Time by Rachel Field
  • The Tyger by William Blake
  • A Musical Instrument by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

This book is one book in the series of 8 Developing Reading Comprehension Skills … and a companion for Classic Children’s Literature, Years 5-6.

The other books are:

Look inside.

See the complete series.

Additional information

Weight 0.51 kg


Print: 9780857478467; E-book: 9780857478474

Market restriction

There are no market restrictions for this book.



Release date


Age groups

Printed book or E-book

E-book, Printed book

Product format

Teacher resource


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5–6: Classic Poetry”

Read this classic poem Night Clouds by Amy Lowell


Practise these retrieval questions for the Night Clouds poem


Try these summary questions for the Night Clouds poem


Study the vocabulary used in the Night Clouds poem and answer these questions


Try this KS2 lesson plan for developing inference skills from the author Kate


Look inside


You may also like…