Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5–6: Classic Childrenʼs Literature

Help pupils to ace the KS2 Reading SATs papers. Using a variety of texts from classic children’s literature, children tackle more complex vocabulary, get used to reading longer passages, and practise each of the eight Reading Content Domain question types that appear in the KS2 Reading SATs papers. Look inside.

See the complete series.


ISBN: Print: 9780857478375; E-book: 9780857478399 Categories: , , ,

£13.99£21.99 price excluding tax


Each of the fiction extracts from classic children’s literature is accompanied by eight sets of questions based on the Key Stage 2 (KS2) Reading Content Domains and National Curriculum. This reading workbook for Years 5 and 6 provides opportunities to tackle more complex vocabulary and so build their own. Pupils can explore how authors use language to impact their readers and develop endurance for longer passages. Inference activities give an indication of the depth of understanding of the text.

The clear structure and the author’s passion for literature make Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5-6: Classic Children’s Literature invaluable for everyone working on literacy development and grammar with 9–10 and 11–12 year olds. The extracts have been carefully selected to grab attention and motivate pupils, read more and ultimately become independent readers.

Support for teachers and parents who are homeschooling is built in with guidance for how to teach the different question types, plus suggestions for embedding these texts in the wider KS2 English curriculum. These teacher resources are suitable for new and recently qualified teachers as well as those who are more experienced and wanting to expand the range of texts they use as classroom practice materials and for guided reading.

If you are a teacher, tutor or parent looking for a comprehensive resource to enhance reflective reading provision and teaching in your classroom or to support home education, this is exactly what you need. Look for other books in the Developing Reading Comprehension Skills series, including Years 3–4: Classic Children’s Literature, Years 3–4: Classic Poetry and Years 5-6: Classic Poetry.

The book contains extracts from the following classic novels:

  • Little House in the Big Woods by Laura Ingalls Wilder
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C S Lewis
  • Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  • The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien
  • Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery
  • Black Beauty by Anna Sewell
  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  • The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne
  • A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

This is one book in a series of 8 Developing Reading Comprehension Skills

The other books are:

Look inside.

See the complete series.

Additional information

Weight 0.57 kg


Print: 9780857478375; E-book: 9780857478399

Market restriction

There are no market restrictions for this book.



Release date



Age groups

Printed book or E-book

E-book, Printed book

Product format

Teacher resource


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Developing Reading Comprehension Skills Years 5–6: Classic Childrenʼs Literature”

Read this extract from The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling


Try answering these compare and contrast questions for The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling


Look at these retrieval questions for The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling extract


Try this KS2 lesson plan for developing inference skills from the author Kate Heap


Look inside


You may also like…